Will your internet content survive?

Today when I felt like writing a blog post, I realised it has been almost 10 years since I wrote my first Blog post on this blog. This blog was originally created on Microsoft’s MSN Spaces in 2004 and when Microsoft killed the service In 2010, I moved it to this free WordPress service.

Until last year I used to have another blog which was hosted by the Dutch Internet provider XS4all,  running on ‘experimental server’ for 9 years. Sadly they took it down and the only way you can read it now is by using a service like ‘the way back machine’.

So it seems not many blogging platforms are here forever, Which makes me wonder how long WordPress will continue to provide their free blogging platform. I’m pretty sure WordPress must be one of the most reliable picks if you needed to choose a blogging platform, right? But since this blog is called ‘Visions of the Future’ I feel the pressure to do a prediction for the future. Wouldn’t it be nice if people (family, researchers) could read my blog post 10, 20, 50 or even 100+ years from now?

I expect WordPress will still exist 10 years from now (in 2024), but I’m less certain about 2034 and don’t have much faith in 2064. Will the WordPress organisation still exist in 100 years? My prediction is that it won’t. The good news is that I’m pretty sure most data on the internet will continue to exist.

I’m not sure if it will be on the ‘Way back Machine’ or a Google caching service (Google might be bankrupt after the war of the machines) but I’m certain there will be enough services within 10 years which will be capable of capturing almost all valuable knowledge (text and images) on the internet. Eventually all this data will be converted into an ‘uber worldwide semantic database’ which some day will be capable in reproducing all the knowledge which was ever published online…

front-row-seat-to-the-end-of-the-world

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

