Visions of the Future – LED lighting!

Some weeks ago I remembered why I started this blog in the first place…
I wanted to share some of the visions I have on the near future.


Hmm. Since I forgot to do this, I promise that I will try to post one vision every week, for the coming months..

So, LET’S START. Here is my first vision…
I will start with a pretty sure thing…

”Within 10 years 50% of all house hold lighting will be based on LED technology.”

Well, what’s a LED?
Here is the answer on Wikipedia for those that don’t know yet..

So LED stands for Light Emitting Diode and is a very effective form of light, since there is no heat generation. Because of this LED use very little energy to producer light…

The first led was made in 1962. That’s more than 43 years ago.  Probably they still work. LEDs have an extremely long life span, twice longer than the best fluorescent bulbs and twenty times longer than the best incandescent bulbs. 
My father build a digital clock 30 years ago using LEDs. This thing has been on for 30 years, and is still working…

Here some more advantages of using LEDs (copied from Wikipedia)
LEDs are capable of emitting lights of an intended color without the use of color filters that traditional lighting methods use.
The shape of the LED package allows light to be focused. Incandescent and fluorescent sources often require an external reflector to collect light and direct it in a useable manner.
LEDs are built inside solid cases that protect them, making them hard to break and extremely durable

In Holland all traffic lights that fail, are replaced using LEDs…
The amount of light that a LED can produce is still increasing.
In 2002 5-watt LEDs were available with efficiencies of 18-22 lumens per watt.
This year this will go to 10-watt units with efficiencies of 60 lumens per watt, what means it will give the same amount of light as a normal 50 Watt light bulb..

Ok. Like most visions. You have to test them..
So last month… I put the first LED lights in my house..

I got a blue Led bulb housing 30 blue LEDs in my studio…
And….!  I got a Led Bulb housing 30 White LEDs in my toilet
See the pictures for more details..

So.. I predict.. 10 years.. and everybody got this type of lights in his or her toilet, kitchen or bedroom…..  will see..
 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

